Time to Raise Money – Go Fund Me

Now that I was invited to the Bolshoi I had to figure out how to raise money to attend. The tuition alone is about $1600. USD a month. That doesn’t include medical insurance, pointe shoes costs, air fare, etc…  My mom is a single mom. My father has not been part of my life physically or financially at all ever which was completely his choice. My mom cannot really afford this expenses associated with the Bolshoi alone. After doing some research we found the Go Fund Me website. After researching it more my mom and I decided to give it a try. At first my mom and I didn’t want to really publicize my Go Fund Me page. I was just uncomfortable but after talking to people I decided I didn’t care. I wanted to go to the Bolshoi Academy so badly I said I’ll share my story.

I made my Go Fund Me page public on Facebook. It was a slow start. I was very grateful for the initial donations. To see one of my favorite high school teachers, Mr. Groven, make a donation to support me meant so much. I thought he would have been annoyed that I was considering deferring college for this especially after how hard I had to work in high school just to do well. His donation was like the “I approve” that I needed because I was a little conflicted about withdrawing from college.  I didn’t want to let anyone down. I always feel guilty like if I make the wrong choice I will be letting someone down.

Ok I’m getting off topic a little so let me get back to the topic. After a few days I decided to inbox my role model Misty Copeland on FB. She is someone I admire being that she is also a minority ballet dancer who knows what it is like to have to fight and hard work to make it in this world. She has never given up and I admire that. I basically told her how I felt and asked her if she would consider sharing my story. The next day I woke up and went on FB and she took my entire email and shared it on FB. I was like omg! This is when really amazing things started happening.

Shortly after I went onto my Go Fund Me page and there were more donations one which was particularly large! I couldn’t believe it!!! I was so grateful. Every dollar helps and this was the best news I could have received! Also to see the the relief in my moms tears. I knew things were looking up for us. For the first time I thought maybe going to Bolshoi will really happen. Up to this point I had tried not to get my hopes up. I just started shaking and I cried when I saw this donation. There are really truly generous people in this world. I was so thankful for all of the donations!!!!!. There is more to this story which I will continue on with in my next post…

Leave a Reply

