January at the Academy

Hi Everyone!

So I am back at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy. I went home for a short two weeks for Christmas. The time at home flew by and before I knew it I had to say goodbye, which was much harder this time then when I originally left back in October. The thought of not seeing my mom, family and best friends for almost 6 months really hit me hard.

When I arrived back at the Academy I had a few days before classes started. With so much down time and so few people here I ended up making some new friends, which was nice. We went to dinner a few times, had a scary movie night and stayed up late being silly.

Our classes started back on Monday and I learned that my primary ballet teacher was in Japan for the week so we had a substitute. She is young and training to become a ballet teacher. On Tuesday I also found out that in place of modern dance class, which we completed last semester, this semester I will now be taking historical dance. I am very much looking forward to this.

On Tuesday in Russian language class I also found out that I will now start book 2! This makes me happy because it means I am progressing in my Russian Language studies. I am also trying to speak to my Russian friends a little more in Russian.

I am still practicing my variation from Le Jardin and I will be learning many more variations in the coming months. I have been working hard on trying to get into shape. I learned that because I am in the Russian course here at the Academy that when it comes time to takes exams in the Spring we will take our exams on stage and supposedly companies come and watch us to see who is up and coming and what next year’s graduates are like. Apparently this only happens when you are placed in the Russian course so the kids in the international course don’t have this opportunity, which is unfortunate and makes me even more grateful to have been placed in the Russian course. I really have to focus and work hard because I want to leave a good impression. I only hope that I will be able to stay on until 2014 and  complete the course so that I can have the opportunity to be watched by companies and possibly asked to audition for one of their companies. Right now it doesn’t look to promising for me though due to finances. As always everything revolves around money and without it trying to make it in ballet can seem hopeless.

That being said I hope that if anyone even read this that you will consider sharing my story. Every dollar helps. If you have friends in college maybe you could ask them to not buy a beer this weekend and maybe instead donate the dollar. Maybe you can share my story with your friends in church, maybe say a pray for me. I need all the support I can get.

Finally I want to thank everyone again who helped make my opportunity here now possible. I am so grateful to be here. The training is truly amazing and like no other. So thank you so much from the bottom of my heart!

Love,

Nicole

Leave a Reply

