Exams & Summer

Hi everyone! I am sorry I haven’t posted for such a long time! I have so much to tell you. The last time I posted I was getting ready for my year end exams at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy. Well that was back in May and I completed and passed all of my exams! It was a very stressful time for me. I had an exam in ballet, character dance and duet. I probably could have done better but at the time I did my best. The biggest issue I have to correct is my weight. I was told that I needed to lose weight. That being said after all the exams are over it’s a tradition to go out and eat everything! Which is what I did with my class! After the exams were over I continued taking my ballet classes and I spent time with my boyfriend Diego and friends relaxing. It was a very sad time because my boyfriend and some of my friends were graduating and I knew it would be a very long time, if ever, that I would see them again. It was definitely a time of mixed emotions. I was so happy I was invited back to the Academy to complete my final year and I couldn’t wait to go home to see my mom, friends and family but when the day actually came to go home I cried. It was so hard to say goodbye to everyone, especially Diego.

Diego
Diego

]
I flew back home to NY in mid-June. I was so happy to see my mom! I had a week off and spent most of the week going to doctors. A week after I arrived home the Bolshoi Ballet Academy Summer Intensive in NYC, which I attended for the past 6 weeks, began. I was very lucky because my primary ballet teacher at the Academy, Irina Sirova, came to the intensive to teach and I was placed in her class

My Bolshoi Acad teacher Irina Sirova
My Bolshoi Acad teacher Irina Sirova
My bolshoi Acad Duet teacher Mr. Ilya Ryzhakov & BFF/partner Michael
My bolshoi Acad Duet teacher Mr. Ilya Ryzhakov & BFF/partner Michael

It was like a continuation of my year round studies. The summer intensive was hard work but a lot of fun also. It was nice to reunite with ballet friends from previous years and I also made many new friends. I have also become closer with a few of the Russian boys from my class at the Academy who came to the NYC intensive. It is funny how you spend an entire year in class with someone but barely speak to them. In my case because I am shy and self-conscious about my Russian language skills. I guess at the summer intensive there is more down time and so we had the chance to try to speak more and I was more confident because I was in my comfort zone, being this is my home. They would ask and I was able to help them, show them around, etc.. and because of this we grew closer as friends. The 6 weeks went by so fast. This past Friday August 2nd we had our final performance. I danced in several pieces. After dancing in one of the pieces my duet teacher from the academy (I didn’t have him as a teacher this summer as he taught a different level) was very pleased with my performance and told me I did very, very good!! I was so happy because he is probably the hardest on me all year at the academy. He tends to get angry at me often but I know it is because he believes in me. So to hear this from him made my night! It was also my birthday so this was one of the best presents to receive! After the performance my mom took a few of my family members and friends out to dinner to celebrate the performance and my 19th birthday. It was a great night filled with good food and laughter!

Classmates from US & Russia
Classmates from US & Russia
After performance 19th birthday celebration dinner.
After performance 19th birthday celebration dinner.

Now I have a week off and then I will begin classes at the Manhattan Youth Ballet SI. MYB contacted me a few weeks ago and invited me, to my surprise, to come with a full scholarship. I am looking forward to this because I will study the Balanchine style, as well as, jazz, choreography and contemporary. I studied these styles in the past at MYB but at the Bolshoi Academy the primary focus is classical so I am grateful to MYB for inviting me back to train and perform. It will be a great refresher. My teachers will include principal dancers from the New York City Ballet, American Ballet Theater, and Boston Ballet. It is always good to get a new perspective from different teachers and working with professional dancers is a great way to network. I will study there for 3 weeks and then I will perform on August 29th . I will try to post about my MYB experience before the summer ends. MYB has always supported me and I am thankful for the opportunity.

My Bolshoi Ballet contract for this fall is due to arrive this week. I had passport problems so the contract was delayed. As many of you know who follow my blog I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to return to the academy due to the financial cost. Well this is going to sound silly but back when I was at the Academy there was one day when it rained and then I looked out my dorm room window and saw a double rainbow. It was beautiful! When I saw the rainbow I wished that a miracle would happen and that I would find a sponsor so that I could return to the Academy. You won’t believe this but a few days later my wish came true! A very, very special person came forward and decided to sponsor the rest of my time at the Academy! I am not sure if this person wants to stay anonymous so I will just say that I am so grateful and thankful to my sponsor! This person is a true angel! My angel! Because of his kindness and generosity I will be returning to the Academy on August 30st to complete my final year at the Bolshoi Ballet Academy! I want my sponsor to know and everyone else who supported me this past year how truly thankful I am. None of this would have been possible without my mom, my angel and everyone else who donated and supported me.

Next time you see a rainbow and make a wish!!! It just might come true! I know it sounds silly but if you believe then your wishes and dreams can come true. So never stop wishing, believing and dreaming!!blog 6
Love,
Nicole xx

Other exciting news: Also back in May Grishko USA named me their Rising Star for May/June 2013. I was featured in their newsletter and they also donating 20 pairs of pointe shoes. Thank you Grishko!

2 thoughts on “Exams & Summer

  1. Came across your blog-site. We are praying and rooting for you here in Indianapolis USA. Your boldness in following hard after your dream even to a far away country is is the stuff of inspiration. May God bless you as you continue on and keep you safe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

